Adopt A Family Boise

I often peruse the Craigslist volunteer section and each year around this time I come across several posts regarding families in need for the holidays.  While I agree there are several good organizations in the Valley that do their best to help those in need I believe that there is good in people coming together to help someone out in the simplest way possible. I have decided for this Holiday Season to use this blog as a base to gather people in my area together to help as many families as we can.

Here’s how we will start:

Individuals/Families

Please send me an email explaning your request and what it is you need most

Those wishing to donate:

I will compile a list on this blog of items needed as well as the needs of families if you are interested in adopting an entire family.

Thank you all and I look forward to working together to make this holiday season memorable!

Rebecca

20 Responses

  1. Hello my name is Holli and I am a single mother of a wonderful and precious four year old boy. I am currently working full-time in a temp position, trying to keep up on all the bills…

    I would love nothing more than for my four year to have a Christmas he deserves!!!!

    He loves transformers, teenage mutant ninja turtles and any little boy item…

    He needs clothes. He is a size 6 pant and size Small shirt. He wears size 12 shoes.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!!!

  2. Hi Rebecca.. My husband family which consist of his dad, mom, brother and sister in law and then us are wanting to find two families that are in need this holiday season to donate to… I was looking on your website and wondering.. Is each profile a family… becasue if so I interested in donating to profile #6 and 7… please let me know.. Thanks

    • Hello!
      Thank you so much for your interest in sponsoring! Yes, each profile is 1 family. I can go ahead and update this site to reflect sponsorship for profile 6 & 7. If you would like more information on the families I will be glad to forward that to you. Merry Christmas!
      Rebecca

  3. Hello my name is Shana and me and my husband have our 3 boys and one on the way. Things have been extremely hard this last year and we’re already starting to worry about christmas because it is an important holiday for our kids. Our boys are 4,7,and 9 . The things we need most are warm clothing bedding and household items. Thank you. My email is trittin9@aol.com

  4. My name is Angela Weir, I am the mother 3 children, two girls and a boy. I am divorced and working only part time as well as living with my parents… I havent been able to find a full time job as of yet. The father of my children will not pay child support so I am trying very hard to make it on my own. My parents help out as much as they can.. I really need help this christmas..Asking for help is one of hardest things I have had to do. My children are 11 my oldest daughter, my son is 7, and my youngest daughter is 5. Thank you soooooo much
    ngl_weir@yahoo.com

    • HI Angela,
      Thank you for your email. I would be glad to do my very best to find your family a sponsor this Christmas. Would you mind sending me an email at project1goodthing@gmail.com with your children’s sizes and wish list for Christmas? That is always very helpful information for a sponsor. Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you soon!

      Brightest Blessings,
      Rebecca

      • hi my name is angela and my childs sizes are my 11 year old is xlarge in shirts and 14 in young womens in pant pajamas the same she is into anything twilight and wants a bike and mp3 player and my other daughter size 5 in child and any thing barbie and hello kitty and my son is size 7 or 8 boy he is 7 years old and really wants a bike all my kids do they do not have one they are all broke my son loves legos cars
        thank you for your help angela

  5. My name is Melissa, I am a mother of 5 children and just recently divorced. I have not been able to find work as of yet and living on Taffy with brings in 309.00 a month. I have been able to find a few odd jobs to help keep us going somewhat.Because I am on Taffy my child support pays for that so I dont get any. Christmas this year, Well for me and my children there wont be any. I am so sad about this, I dont know where to turn. I live in a small traior, that is all I can afford. my oldest son is 16, my daughter is 14, and my other son 12, and my other son is 10 and my daughter is 5. This has been the roughest year ever for me. The things we all want, are anything. Thank you
    nightangel_b123@yahoo.com

    • Hello Melissa,
      Thank you for your email. I would love to help find your family a sponsor this year. What sizes are your children? What sorts of things are they in to? It’s ok if they don’t have a wish list, but maybe a few suggestions as to what they like doing would be helpful to a sponsor. You can reach me at project1goodthing@gmail.com. Thank you again!

      Brightest Blessings,
      Rebecca

  6. Hi, I just came across your blog about adopting families for Christmas. I know of a single mother with two young children (3 &5) that have been struggling all year. I have done what I can to help them, when I can, but at this time of year, I cannot give as much as I’d like to. She got divorced a little over a year ago and the father is out of the picture- and not paying a dime of child support. She is 25 years old with health problems that have affected her ability to keep a job. She does everything she can to be an amazing mother and put those two little boys first. I hate to see them struggle, as she is such a kind hearted person and the boys’ sweet personalities will melt your heart. If there is anyone out there that can help this family have a Merry Christmas, please contact me at hgarey@hotmail.com. Thank you!

    P.S. The boys wear sizes 4T & 5T. They love Cars, Spiderman, Toy Story characters and pretty much anything else that little boys like.

  7. Hello,
    My father’s name is Jack Rucker. He has worked in the construction business almost all of his life. He has stood strong and tall in the times when we have needed him to, worked hard when he has not been well, missed Christmases, birthdays, (including his own), and has been working on a bad knee that he hasn’t had the money for the surgery to receive. We have all recently moved to Boise to start over. While my father has found another job, this past year has been so hard. My son is 14 months old and we’re struggling to provide him with a great Christmas. We all live in one household which consists of myself, my husband and our son, and then my father and my mother and my 3 siblings which are Jeremy who is 19, Tara who is 18, and Jack who is 13. My father is trying to support all of us. My husband and I have been looking for work left and right and finding a job right now would be a Christmas miracle in itself. I just want my father to feel the Christmas spirit but it seems as though hard times are overwhelming to us all.

  8. Hello my name is Shana i contacted you last year. Are you still helping families this year for christmas?

  9. I am a mother of 4 and I just came across this site while looking for help for christmas for my kids. My husband works full time in Security, and is able to pay the bills, barely, but we have not been able to save any extra for christmas. I am still recovering from injuries from a car accident so I’m not able to work much right now, but I do what I can. I really just want my kids to have a good christmas, and lucky for me they are pretty easy kids to please. My daughter is 10, my two middle boys are 8, and my baby is almost 4 months old. I am not asking for a lot, but something for them this year would make all the difference. I do have some really nice baby clothes that my baby has outgrown, size 0-3 months if anyone knows of a new mom that could use them, there is not a lot, only about a box worth. I also have a few warm blankets if there is a child in need. I am asking for help with my children but also would like to help a child in need if I have something that they can use. Please let me know if anyone can help, thank you for taking the time to read this.

  10. We are a family who has always taken pride and joy in helping others and now we are in dire need of help. Months ago we took in my 2 nieces and 1 nephew because there mother was addicted to drug and on the street. We were in the position to be able to do so and provide for them as well as our 4 children. This week my husband was informed that his plant is closing Dec 14th, 2012. This has left our family hurting for christmas and unable to provide anything for the 7 children in our home. We have to make what money we have stretch for bills and rent and food until we find employment again. The ages for the children are as followed… 14 yr old daughter, 13 yr old niece, 12 yr old nephew, 10 yr old son, 9 yr old son, 6 yr old daughter, 5 yr old niece. Gifts, gift card anything helps… shoes is something that could be usefull as well but clothing is not a huge need as they all have plenty of clothes. When we have landed back on our feet we will be looking forward to giving back to those who are in need as we have always done. Thank you and bless your hearts this holiday season

  11. I do not see on her how to post a family. I have an employee who because of her husband being laid off and the fact that she only works parttime. Will now not be able to provide her family christmas. I find it sad because she does such a wonderful job as her job here as a caregiver. SHe has four sons age 14, 9,7 and 3. I know any help would be greatly appreciated by her. Her boys are good boys and the three younger ones still believe in Santa and won’t understand how Santa forgot them. Please contact me at rhonda@countrytimehome.com

    • I will try and match you up with a sponsor. I haven’t had many sponsors this year but let me see what I can do. Thank you so much! Merry Christmas!
      Becca

  12. Hi – My family would really love to help a family or two, but I’m having trouble determining which families are still ‘available.’ Would you please let me know? THanks!

    • Hi Scott!
      Thank you for your interest in helping a family. The posts on the blog are from
      Last years adopt a family. I do have families that have emailed me in need of some assistance this year. I would be glad to match you up with them if you are interested. Thank you and Merry Christmas!
      Becca

  13. Becca – We are looking to help a family out this year for Christmas in the local area. I wasn’t sure where the people are that you are getting responses from. Also, how do I know who is left. I know this is last minute but would love to put something together for a family.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

